Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Newsroom Lear Seating Sponsors Mahindra Racing in FIA Formula E Championship

SOUTHFIELD, Mich., Feb. 16, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- Lear Corporation (NYSE: LEA), a leading global supplier of automotive seating and electrical systems, today announced that its Seating business is a sponsor of Mahindra Racing in the FIA Formula E Championship, the first global single-seater championship for electric powered cars.

"As a global leader in automotive seating and the world's premier supplier of performance and luxury automotive seating, Lear is proud to sponsor Mahindra Racing in competing in the FIA Formula E Championship," said Matt Simoncini, Lear's president and chief executive officer.  "We have worked closely with the Mahindra Group since 1998 and are proud to supply our valued partner with more than 300,000 seat sets for their production vehicles on an annual basis. Mahindra Racing's passion for both Formula E and world-class engineering are values the Lear team shares."

Dr. Pawan Goenka, Chairman of Mahindra Racing, said, "It is my pleasure to warmly welcome Lear Seating to Mahindra Racing and our FIA Formula E Championship program. Lear has a well-established association with the Mahindra Group and its leading seating systems are featured in Mahindra commercial vehicles, SUVs, and more. Our consumers have already enjoyed Lear Seating's advanced solutions and now we look forward to growing this partnership together with our racing activities."

"Lear Seating provides industry-leading, vertically integrated seating systems and related seat components globally," said Ray Scott, Lear executive vice president and president of Seating. "We highly value working with Mahindra and look toward a future of continued collaboration and innovation, as well as the Mahindra Racing team's performances around the world."

About Lear Corporation

Lear Corporation (NYSE: LEA) was founded in Detroit in 1917 as American Metal Products.  In 2017, the Company will celebrate its 100th year anniversary.  Lear is one of the world's leading suppliers of automotive seating systems and electrical distribution systems (E-Systems).  Lear serves every major automaker in the world, and Lear content can be found on more than 400 vehicle nameplates.  Lear's world-class products are designed, engineered and manufactured by a diverse team of approximately 150,000 employees located in 37 countries.  Lear currently ranks #154 on the Fortune 500.  Lear's headquarters are in Southfield, Michigan.  Further information about Lear is available at or follow us on Twitter @LearCorporation. 

About Mahindra Racing

Mahindra Racing is one of ten teams - and the only Indian team - to compete in the FIA Formula E Championship. It is also the first and only Indian team to participate in the FIM MotoGP™ World Motorcycle Racing Championship Series since 2011.

Mahindra Racing enters the third season of Formula E with its own electric powertrain to power its quartet of electric racing cars. The new M3Electro, launched for season three, is already proving to be a competitive package netting two podiums, a pole position and fastest lap award from its first two races. Together with drivers Felix Rosenqvist and Nick Heidfeld, the team has high technical and sporting ambitions in the ground-breaking, fully-electric championship. Further information is available at or follow the team on Twitter @mahindraracing.

About the FIA Formula E Championship

The FIA Formula E Championship is the world's first fully-electric single-seater racing series, competing on the streets against a backdrop of some of the most iconic cities - including Hong Kong, Marrakech, Buenos Aires, Mexico City, Paris, Berlin, Montreal and New York. The championship represents a vision for the future of the motor industry, serving as a platform to showcase the latest innovations in electric vehicle technology and alternative energy solutions. Future seasons will see the regulations open up further allowing manufacturers to focus on the development of motor and battery components, which in turn will filter down to everyday contemporary electric road vehicles. The 2016/17 FIA Formula E Championship sees 10 teams and 20 drivers go wheel-to-wheel in 10 cities spanning five continents in the fight to be crowned Formula E champion. The inaugural season of Formula E

sparked into life in September 2014 around the grounds of the Olympic Park in Beijing. The third season of the all-electric racing series began on October 9 in Hong Kong, with the season finale double-header in Montreal on July 29 & 30. Further information is available at or follow the series on Twitter @fiaformulae. 

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE Lear Corporation

News Provided by Acquire Media

Posted on 2/16/2017

View all
Back To Top